Happy Holidays!

Happy Tuesday!

For Yom Kippur Break Fast tomorrow, I am excited to be attending one of my good friend’s apartments for a pot luck. I have always struggled with choosing the perfect dish to bring to a pot luck. You want to go bold – but not too bold, since you want everyone to enjoy it. On the other hand, I was never a big fan of the gluten-free, vegan dishes. While very considerate, it’s definitely not what we’d call “fabulous.”

One thing I’m sure of is that vintage is always fabulous and also, pretty safe. Tomorrow I am making a Dairy Kugel from my grandmother’s cookbook. It’s a typical recipe with noodles, cottage cheese, sour cream, cornflakes and brown sugar, but I am feeling a little seasonal so I am adding some golden raisins and crushed walnuts. Wish me luck and look out for pictures tomorrow! If you’re celebrating, have an easy fast!

My Grammie Temi is the most vivacious and loving person I have ever known. And elegant! (I wore her 1989 Ann Taylor velvet dress to a formal once). Vintage = Fabulous/Frugal

All the best,

Maranda

 

 

One thought on “Happy Holidays!

  1. Annette Feller says:

    Maranda, Wow….I just returned from temple and wanted to check in with you only to find this honor you bestowed upon me. What a way to start the New Year with glowing remarks from my wonderful and creative granddaughter. By the way, don’t forget the topping of crushed corn flakes, mixed with sugar, cinamon and some walnut pieces. It makes it so crunchy…You are turning out to be such a balabusta!!! I am sure your friends will love it because you made it with love! love u so…..Grammie (when was that picture taken)???

Leave a Reply

